Post Format

Alexander the Great Marathon. Done.

5 comments

So I did it!

Completed my 9th long distance race with a PB and as they say it doesn’t get easier, it gets faster. I could not have gone a second faster although my training was well tailored to push my abilities and aim for the target.

3:47 to run the Alexander the Great Marathon in Thessaloniki. From Pella to the centre of Thessaloniki, the White Tower.

Screen Shot 2014-04-07 at 8.23.35 PM

The 500km of training were enjoyable pushing me to my limits without injuries or burnouts and I thank my coach for that.

My target time was actually 3:40 or less but I’m still happy with the overall result. 406th out of 1127 finishers. It seems that most runners had a hard time since even the elite runners were slower that the previous years.

Under 3:40 seems like a target too fast for me and I hate the idea of training to beat it once again. I want my next marathon to be a fun run. No stress just fun. And boy was I stressed yesterday!

The event was well organised but clearly on a budget since its only a small race although being advertised as an international race the main focus and money is spent on the popular 10 and 5k distances.

IMG_6262

Weather, not sure if it was good or not. Downpours till five mins before the start with not a single drop after. Just head winds to make things slightly more challenging.

Cheering crowds? zero marks there for Thessaloniki, especially if compared to the Athens Classic.

No marathon can be complete without the odd runner going the “extra mile” as they say.

IMG_6260

 

And the best part of all, a freaking huge medal! I love my medals and this is the mother of all, suits my PB too.

IMG_6266

I’m a medal slut with my private bling display. Do you show off your?

*note to myself, don’t travel again alone, it is no fun.

 

5 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. I really don’t care for medals, but this one is awesome!!
    Congrats on the marathon and on your great finish time, that is really good!
    We don’t get much cheering crowd in Israel either, but that’s OK, sometimes I think I prefer it that way.

    Reply

  2. Pingback: Fun run and new shoes | The Burning Calories Blog

  3. Pingback: 10k after work | The Burning Calories Blog

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

